--- title: "Managing Permission Groups" slug: "managing-permission-groups" updated: 2025-11-13T22:49:42Z published: 2025-11-13T22:49:42Z canonical: "help.hyperscience.ai/managing-permission-groups" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://help.hyperscience.ai/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Managing Permission Groups Hyperscience comes with a set of default permission groups, and you can create custom permission groups to meet your organization’s needs. You can also manage your permission groups with the tools provided on the Permission Groups page of the application (**Users** > **Permission Groups**). To learn more about our default permission groups, see [Permission Groups](/v42/docs/permission-groups). ## Creating custom permission groups If you want to create a custom permission group, follow these steps: 1. Go to **Users** > **Permission Groups**. 2. Click **Add Permission Group** in the upper-right corner. 3. Enter the group name and click **Next**. - The name can contain up to 150 characters. 4. (Optional) If you are using an LDAP provider to authenticate users, under **Link Authentication Groups**, select the authentication group or groups whose users should be added to this permission group. Users from these authentication groups will be added to the new permission group the next time they log in to the application. - All users from the authentication group will be added to the permission group. If you want to add only certain users from the authentication group, you need to create a separate permission group that contains only those users. You cannot remove particular users from a permission group in the application. 5. Under **Configure Group Access Permissions**, select the permissions the users in this permission group should have. - You can filter the list of available permissions based on the permission groups they belong to. To see a list of permissions given to a permission group in your instance, click the **All Permissions** drop-down list, and click the name of the permission group. This feature allows you to use another group’s permissions as a starting point when creating your new permission group. 6. (Optional) You can restrict live flows and their submissions, documents, releases, layouts, and models so that they are accessible to this new permission group, along with any other groups you’ve assigned to the flows. To assign this group to certain flows, select the checkbox for each flow under **Assign Group Access to Specific Flows**. - For more information, see [Flow-based Permissions](/v42/docs/flow-based-permissions). 7. When you are finished configuring the group, click **Save**. ## Editing a custom permission group’s users and permissions If you’ve created a custom permission group, you can edit it by following the steps below. Any changes you make to the permission group will be applied to each of the group’s users upon their next login. Note that you cannot edit default permission groups. To edit a permission group: 1. Go to **Users** > **Permission Groups**, and click on the name of the permission group you want to edit. 2. Click **Edit** in the upper-right corner of the page. 3. Make changes to the permission group: - Under **Link Authentication Groups**, select any additional authentication groups whose users should be added to this permission group, and deselect any groups whose users should be removed from this permission group. - Under **Configure Group Access Permissions**, select any additional permissions the users in this permission group should have, and deselect any that should be taken away. - You can filter the list of available permissions based on the permission groups they belong to. To see a list of permissions given to a permission group, click the **All Permissions** drop-down list, and click the name of the permission group. - Under **Assign Group Access to Specific Flows**, select any live flows that users should have access to, and deselect any that they should no longer have access to. - If you’ve assigned groups access to a flow, only those groups can access its submissions, documents, releases, layouts, and models. - For more information, see [Flow-based Permissions](/v42/docs/flow-based-permissions). 4. When you are finished making changes, click **Save**. ## Change the name of a custom permission group You can change the name of a custom permission group by following the steps below. Note that you cannot change the names of the default permission groups. 1. Go to **Users** > **Permission Groups**, and click on the group whose name you would like to change. 2. Click **Edit Name** at the top of the page, and edit the group’s name. - The name can contain up to 150 characters. 3. Click **Save**. ## Export a permission group You can use your custom permission groups in other instances. To do so, export the groups, then import their JSON files into any instances where you would like to use the permission groups. To export permission groups: 1. Go to **Users** > **Permission Groups**, and select the checkboxes for the groups you want to export. 2. Click **Actions**, and then click **Export**. The system creates a JSON file for each exported permission group, which is then downloaded to your machine. If you’ve exported multiple groups, the system creates a ZIP file containing a JSON file for each permission group. ## Import a permission group In addition to creating new permission groups manually by following the steps in [Creating custom permission groups](/v42/docs/managing-permission-groups#creating-custom-permission-groups), you can also import existing permission groups. This option allows you to use the same permission groups across multiple instances. > [!NOTE] > **Check the names of your groups before uploading** > > If the name of the imported group matches the name of a group already on your instance, the imported group will overwrite the contents of that group. If you do not want the imported group to overwrite any of your current groups, make sure the name of the imported group will be unique in your instance. To import a permission group: 1. Go to **Users** > **Permission Groups**. 2. Click **Add Permission Group** in the upper-right corner. 3. In the **Add Permission Group** dialog box, click the **Upload Existing** tab. 4. If there are no authentication groups in your instance, enable the **Create missing authentication groups setting** at the bottom of the dialog box. - To learn more about authentication groups, see [Managing Authentication Groups](/v42/docs/managing-authentication-groups). 5. Do one of the following: - Drag and drop the permission group’s JSON file to the dialog box. - Click **Choose File**, and find and open the permission group’s JSON file on your machine. 6. Click **Upload**. ## Duplicate permission groups Another way to add a permission group is to duplicate an existing one, which allows you to use an existing permission group as the basis for a new permission group. To duplicate permission groups: 1. Go to **Users** > **Permission Groups**, and select the checkboxes for the groups you want to duplicate. 2. Click **Actions**, and then click **Duplicate**. The system creates a copy of each selected permission group. A duplicate group’s name contains the name of the original group followed by “(copy)” (e.g., “US Insurance Keyers (copy)”). ## Delete custom permission groups If you no longer need a custom permission group, you can delete it. Note that you cannot delete default permission groups, and you cannot restore permission groups after you delete them. To delete custom permission groups: 1. Go to **Users** > **Permission Groups**, and select the checkboxes for the groups you want to delete. 2. Click **Actions**, and then click **Delete**. 3. Click **OK**.